Work. Will. Confidence.

For those of you who have not watched The Mighty Ducks triology, first go watch them. Take a break from reading this post and social media. They are classics in the sports genre of movies and were on tv on Saturday afternoons quite often when I was growing up. I actually have two copies of each and watch them on a relatively regular basis. Then come back and finish reading this post.

I’ve always been involved in sports. My siblings were always involved in sports – sometimes different than mine. It became quite clear that while I was really good, I had to work really hard to be good. Natural athleticism did not hit me the way it hit my sister. But! I realized I had a knack for being able to read other players – opponents and teammates – and correctly anticipate the different plays and movements. Several of my coaches realized it and took advantage of that. I wrote plays for my team, for my dad’s team (he was a coach), for the guys’ teams, and later for my teams when I became a coach.

How does this relate to The Mighty Ducks? Patience. I’m getting to that point.

SPOILER: In the second chapter of the Ducks, there were two many players. One of the players offered to not dress for the big game for the good of the team mentioning that they had always known he would make a better coach than a player. In the third chapter, a mantra of sorts was given to the team. END SPOILER.

Work. Will. Confidence.

Those three words were given to the team as something to keep in mind as they worked toward what seemed like a near-impossible-to-win game.

Those three words were given to my girls at our first practice (yes, I gave credit to Mighty Ducks.). Those three words go through my head when I’m designing my fitness programs.

I have actually associated two more words with my fitness programs: goals and progress.

The last week, I have done really great with clean eating! I’m making an effort to actually eat at least two full meals each day (I tend to skip breakfast and really prefer one big meal between lunch and supper to cut down on dishes later.). The only processed food in my house right now is my coffee creamer. The other exception will be Oreos, because, well, Oreos.

I finally became able to actually lift again – this time knowing my limits and remembering that my back is not fully healed. I designed and implemented a program that fits my needs and goal and started it this week. It’s only been three days, but the work out combined with the good eating has me feeling more confident (clothes shopping on Sunday was quite disheartening) in my appearance. My muscles are yelling at me but in a good way. I’m getting more done around the house too – more productive.

The reasoning behind work, will, and confidence are explained in the movie (seriously, go watch them!!!). The reasoning behind goals is pretty simple: I’ve set goals for myself. Right there, I’m focusing on the more superficial one: dropping clothes sizes. I do have other, healthier, goals, but the clothing goal is something I can easily measure and acts as a reward system. Progess is because I need to remind myself that I am making progress. I realize that neuro adaptations happen first. Even though I will be feeling better and stronger, I won’t be seeing any major changes for approximately 6 weeks.

So. Always remembering: Work. Will. Confidence. Goals. Progress.

Hopefully, this served as some sort of motivation for you to not only watch The Mighty Ducks but to also set some goals and keep working towards them.

Leave a Reply

