Bible vs Constitution vs Friends

I am a born-again, Bible-believing follower of Christ. I’m not perfect and am the first to admit that. I place the word of God above my beloved Constitution. I have friends who are gay.

You might be thinking: wow, that’s incredibly random.

It’s not.

Tonight a friend broached the conversation I have actually been anticipating: do I know they’re gay (yup), and will that hinder our friendship (nope).

How can I be friends with a person who is gay? Easy. I can be friends with them the same way I can be friends with a drunk or a druggie or a slut or a divorcee. If these people do not claim Christ Jesus as their personal Saviour, if they do not claim to follow God’s word, I cannot judge them (think back to iron sharpening iron) as I would a follower of Christ Jesus who decides to sleep around or drink themselves to oblivion or give up on their marriage.

Jesus came to this world to save those who are lost. He associated with prostitutes and tax collectors. He promised a robber He would see him in heaven! Am I better than Jesus? No! No, I am not! So why would I not associate with those lost in various sins? How will they hear without a preacher?

In this day and age, it’s hard to believe that someone can go without knowing the plan of salvation, but if they were born into and raised in a church which twists and butchers the Bible to fit the agendas of their church leaders, they might have read bits of the Bible and still be lost.

I have other friends who was raised Catholic. They randomly call me up at various times in the morning (we live in different time zones) to ask what do I believe about an issue and can I back it up with the Bible? They ask the same questions of  family members in their churches and leaders of those churches. They cannot support their answers with the Bible. They’re lost because they were purposely led down the wrong path. Granted, now they are without excuse, but originally, they were ignorant because he trusted false prophets.

If I’m too busy judging to share the gospel with them, I firmly believe I will be held accountable for partial responsibility of their presence in hell.

Now. Christians who have strayed…well, that’s for another day.

For the Constitution part of this post (don’t worry, it’s brief). The Bible says that gay marriage is wrong. If the Constitution is altered to allow for gay marriage, I am to follow God before man which means in my world, it will still be wrong. Currently, the Constitution of the United States of America does not advocate or prohibit gay marriage which then allows it to become the rights of the individual States to decide. The federal supreme court recently completely disregarded the checks and balance system. They completely disregarded the Constitution and ruled that gay marriage should be legal. They are breaking the law (literally the Constitution by ignoring the rights of the States) and advocating illegal activity with their attempts at forcing elected officials to allow gay marriage even if it is in a state where it is illegal.

So. In the United States of America, the issue of gay marriage still follows the Biblical principle of no, it’s wrong. But, I will still have friends who are gay because I have friends who are divorcees. Because I don’t want anyone to burn in hell for all of eternity because I thought myself perfect and unable to tell them the good news.

Leave a Reply

